Charitable Running

It’s amazing the inspiration you feel once something major happens in your life.

I was reading about Amy Hughes from Oswestry, Shropshire who is currently running 53 marathons in 53 days to raise money for the Isabelle Lottie Foundation. The charity is close to the family’s heart so has inspired her to take on this amazing challenge. As a fairly new runner, I can’t comprehend what she’s going through right now but I’m so in awe of her efforts. All I can say is ‘Go Amy!’

My reasons are similar to Amy’s. The death of my lovely Grandmother (she’d hate me for calling her that!) in February 2014 was both shocking and extremely upsetting. She had been diagnosed with Alzheimer’s Dementia not long after my Grandad died and slowly lost all recollection of her memories, her family and her surroundings. Some people can become quite difficult with the disease but she was always happy to see you no matter who you were. If you happened to bring her some Jelly Babies, she’d be even happier!

After signing up to local running club, The Maindy Harriers, in February, I’ve made so much progress. When I have my ‘I just want to lie down and not run’ days, I just think of completing the race for my Nan and how proud she’d be.

So I was really excited when my Alzheimer’s UK running shirt came in the post… I even get to iron the letters of my name onto the front which is pretty epic!

Now all I have to do is figure out the iron…. Oh yeah and run 13.1miles. Let’s hope Nan’s got her fingers crossed for me.

Alzheimers tshirt

Leave a Reply

