The wait is over…

So, chest infections have gone, new gear was at the ready and two keen runners were at my side for my first run in a while. And it was pretty good.

It was like waiting for Christmas, getting back out into the fresh air and running. All of my lovely, shiny new gear I had over the festive period was grabbed from the shelf in excitement. It’s never been quite so good to be back in a sports bra…

And the best part of my first run? My sister and a past colleague of mine accompanied me. They’ve not really run much before but they were willing to give it a good go at 9.30am on a Sunday morning when they could’ve been wrapped up in bed. I don’t know about anyone else, but as a person who’s really bad in the morning, dragging my lazy bottom out of my pit is the hardest thing about early morning running!

We met outside a local pub, had a natter for about 10-15mins while we warmed up and went off on our way. We went on a route I’ve not done before which was really nice. We did a good circuit, chatting along the way and catching up. I was making sure that we could all chat as we ran… Great having a gossip while getting some air in the lungs.

As we hit the 3 mile mark, the girls were feeling good but ready to cool down. I was also feeling pretty sparky. No being out of breath, no pain anywhere. Just a feeling that I could well carry on. That said, when I got back after being rescued by my other half, I did in fact sit down and fall asleep. Think being ill killed off my ability to stay awake.

But now, my very keen sister wants to do another run tomorrow night. A bit of hill work and a 4.5mile round trip. The wait is finally over but I’m not going mad in case I damage something and have to wait even longer to get back into the run of things.

The sad thing in all this… The Bath Half Marathon is coming up on March 1st and I won’t be able to do it. Sensibly speaking, I’ve been out of action for a month so don’t think it’s wise to jump straight in to 13miles… Very gutted but hey ho, there’s always other things I can do until Cardiff in October.

5 thoughts on “The wait is over…

  1. This sounds like the perfect run back from a layoff! I’m glad you’re feeling better, but that’s a bummer you won’t be able to do the Bath Half 😦 Though like you say there’s other things you can do til October, maybe you’ll find another awesome half to run!

    Like

    1. Thanks dgobs! It wasn’t too bad thanks 🙂 How are you doing? The snow looks amazing in your latest post! I don’t blame you for dreaming about the running but staying in the warm! How are the arms feeling now? A definite work out!

      Like

      1. My arms have just about gotten back to normal, which is lucky I suppose because we got another foot of snow today, and it’s going to continue snowing for at least another 8 hours. I’m so sick of it! Other than that I’m doing well… at least until my next arm workout 😉

        Like

  2. I wish I could send you some of our snow so you could enjoy it while I get rid of some of it here! 😉 The running spirit definitely fades a bit for me in the winter, but once it warms up a bit in the spring it comes back even stronger 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

