World Cancer Day 2015

cancer day

How many of you knew it was World Cancer Day today? And how many of you, like me, have lost someone to cancer?

Everywhere we go, someone is telling us how to live better, eat the right food and exercise more to save us from the perils of cancer. Apart from if you’re from Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine and Bloomberg School of Public Health.. In which case, it’s just down to bad luck.

Whatever it is, if it ever happens to you, you’ll need help and support. That’s where my non-shameless plug for my amazing workplace comes in.

Tenovus Cancer Care is a leading cancer charity, supporting cancer patients and their loved ones when they need it the most. It’s such an inspirational place to be, with inspirational people and inspirational stories from those who’ve come out the other side. I work for them. And I absolutely love it.

Work

(These are some of the fabulous guys responsible for me loving my job!)

After losing my granddad to cancer, as a family, we’ve done lots of fundraising for local charities to raise money and hopefully help those who need it. We’ve done Zumbathons, Midnight Walks, Pamper Sessions and of course, running. Which kick-started the minor obsession…. and is prompting me to consider applying for the London Marathon next year.

I couldn’t be more passionate about the cause which makes work so much more fantastic. Working for Tenovus Cancer Care, is something pretty amazing and something very special. I’m doing what I can to help people, promote the charity and also, remembering my granddad every day which is amazing.

And because I don’t like the idea of throwing myself from a plane, bungee jumping or zip-wiring off something stupidly tall, running any amount of mileage for a charity this special, would be pretty awesome. But we’ll see how I get on.

So, if you’ve lost anyone you love to cancer, don’t just remember them on World Cancer Day, take a second and remember them everyday.

4 thoughts on “World Cancer Day 2015

  1. I didn’t know it’s World Cancer Day, and what a great post. Your work sounds like a wonderful place that does amazing things… I would love to work for such an inspiring organization! Running the London Marathon for your charity and in memory of your grandad would be incredible… I hope you can do it! 🙂

    Like

    1. I wouldn’t have either had it not been for work 🙂 Do you have a local charity that you really support? I’m going down to support some of our runners who are doing it this year… That will either convince me or deter me! Me too 🙂

      Like

  2. I first started running after losing my gran to cancer. I never expected then that I would be running marathons now and using my running to fundraise for cancer charities, but having since lost my grandfather and father-in-law as well, it’s one way I can do my bit to help make a difference for others.
    Keep up the good work 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

