Help needed: Best form of energy when running?

6c23e01a666d4af50d11234802bec932Fellow runners, I need your help!

I’m sure I’m not the only one out there who has problems deciphering what source of energy is best for an endurance run and what’s also best for me.

When I did my half marathons last year, I was carrying plenty of Viper Maximuscle Energy Gels and SiS Gels. These seemed to be fine at the time and fulfilled their expectation… I was bouncing off the walls for days afterwards.

However, after not using them for a while, I went back to having one last week and it gave me serious palpitations and the shakes? I want to embrace my Speedy side when racing, obviously, but don’t want to be ill from it.

What would you guys suggest? Most of you guys are experienced runners so would love an opinion and what works best for you. I’ve read so many articles but I reckon you guys know a lot more!

Any help would be fantastic 🙂

Thanks so much in advance

Beth 🙂

10 thoughts on “Help needed: Best form of energy when running?

  1. I’m not an expert on fuels, but what has worked best for me so far is Honey Stinger energy chews (http://www.honeystingeruk.co.uk/Energy-Chews_3). I used them during the one half marathon I’ve run (I had 1 or 2 chews every 30 mins with a few sips of water) and I felt good the whole time. I’ve also been known to shove a whole packet in my gob before going to the gym, and have felt good after that too 🙂 Hope this helps!

    Like

  2. I haven’t got round to any long run’s yet that required gels but i’m also interested to hear peoples opinion. I am thinking of just taking along a few fun sized mars bars for the first few – as energy drinks etc have been known to give me the shakes so i’m a bit wary of them.

    Like

    1. Thanks so much for your comment! I know how you feel. There’s too much sugar in them but we need a bit to get a boost. Slow & Steadyish has recommended some chews instead of gels so might have to give them a go! Oo Mars Bars could be a win?! The ones you get in tune of Celebrations would be ideal!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I use torq energy gels and had no problems with those. I would just make sure the ones that gave you palpitations /shakes didn’t contain caffeine or guarana it could be that in them that is causing the problem. Also don’t take too many. If you’re running for less than an hour ie 5 miles or 10k you shouldn’t need any at all. Half marathon I would only take one, two at very most. During marathon I take every 4 miles from 6 onwards so would take 5 as a general rule.

    If you are getting palpitations which aren’t related to gels then definitely get checked out by GP.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I couldn’t remember which gels you said were best 🙂 caffeine makes me feel weird so will avoid them. I don’t use them for under an hour & haven’t started using them in training this time yet. I’ll let you know how I get on x

      Like

      1. We make a beet and cherry juice concentrate called Red Rush that I use and recommend, but you can mix beets in with a smoothie. Rhubarb, beets, spinach, arugula, most leafy green veggies in almost any form or combination will provide a similar boost in dietary nitrate and stamina.

        Like

Leave a Reply

