It’s not all ‘Knee, Knee, Knee’ – Running Survey

…But not this post my friends! Oh no. Taking a much ‘kneeded’ break from moaning about my mid-level leg anxieties. I’ve been inspired by The Running Princess after reading her lovely Q&A on her blog. It’s something really nice, fun and anyone can do it! So, these are my answers…

Would you rather run along a beach path or a mountain trail?
I do love a good mountain trail. I’m a keen walker and used to go rambling a lot with my Mum. We’d be out walking miles on trail paths, taking in the sights and the fresh air. Where we are, there are plenty of mountains and trail paths!

If you could choose the flavour of Gatorade at your next race’s aid stations, what flavour would it be?
I’m more of a Lucozade girl if I have any sort of energy drink. I tend to stick to water because too much energy stuff gives me palpitations!(I’m not a seasoned caffeine person!)

If I gave you a $100 gift card to a running store, what would be the first thing that you would purchase with it?
What to do with $/£100… I do love running shoe shopping. However, I’d go and have the full once over from a running expert to check my style, gait and how I’m running. Having some problems with my knees at the moment so if anyone fancies donating £100 to me, I wouldn’t object hehe!

Do you prefer to follow a training plan or wake up and decide then how far and how fast you want to run?
I’m not very good at sticking to a plan. I’ve tended to do whatever the running club is doing on the day or just see how my body feels and how far it feels like going.

Would you rather start your run with the uphill and end on the downhill or start your run with the downhill and end with the uphill?
Because of where I live, you always have to start running downhill and ending on an up. This is pretty handy and really good for your stamina. It also makes hill training relatively easier, mentally, if I’m starting from scratch.

http://mywalkingjourney.com/2012/10/
http://mywalkingjourney.com/2012/10/

When you can’t run, what kind of cross training do you choose to do?
With my dodgy knees and therefore lack of running, I’ve been going to the gym, walking more, doing some Zumba/tone classes and doing the odd swim. I’d love to swim more but definitely need to get more into it. In my head, if I’m not sweating profusely, I haven’t worked hard enough!

What is your preference: out and back, point to point or loop runs?
Out and back definitely. Loops make my motivation cry. I did a looped half marathon last year and my soul was destroyed by the lady who said ‘Only another 6.5miles to go and I’ll be seeing you again!’ #NotHelpful

If you could recommend ANY running-related item to a new runner, it would be a…
Cracking pair of properly fitted, gait tested trainers. I’ve been to various shops and bought various shoes but it’s like looking for the love of your life… I still haven’t found The One for me.

Do you ever see any wild animals while out on your runs?
Lots of squirrels and birds. No bears for me!

Ever gotten lost while out on a run?
Yes! I’ve got a terrible sense of direction. I ended up running further just to get back to where I started.

If you could have one meal waiting and ready for you each time you got home from a run for the next 30 days, what would that meal be?
Fajitas. They seem to do the job quite well. Possibly not the healthiest option but a good one nonetheless.

Capris or shorts… what do you run in most often?
Capris or leggings. The Welsh weather isn’t particularly kind and plus, I like having the support on my legs. Bought some shorts, now just need to be brave enough to wear them!

At what mile (or how many minutes) into your run does your body start to feel like it’s warming up and ready to go?
About 3miles? If I can get to 3miles and not flake, I know it’ll be a good run day. Anything up to that is hard work mentally.

What do you do with your key when you run?
Keep it in my bra! This and many other items.

If you could relive any race that you have done in the past, which one would it be?
Cardiff Half Marathon. I was running in memory of my Nan and it was so emotional. My partner ran with me and our family and friends were on route cheering us on. Best experience.

What type of run is your least favourite type of run?
A speed run. I’m not very good at varying my speeds over a long distance. Give me a hill run anyday.

What has been your biggest motivation lately to get out the door to get your run on?
I was training for the Swansea Half but because of my knees, I’m pretty limited at the moment. I’m still trying to do little runs because I miss the experience and suffering from anxiety, I know that running/exercise keeps it under control

When you go for a run, do you leave right from your front door or do you drive somewhere to start?
A bit of both. If I’m running with the club, we drive then run. If I’m going with my sister or partner, it’s from the front door.

When running in daylight, are sunglasses a must or an annoyance?
Annoyance. I obviously haven’t found the right pair for me! Anti steam and anti slip are my specifications if anyone can recommend?

When you get tired, what keeps you from quitting?
The knowledge that I’ll be proud of myself at the end of the run and know I’ve worked hard. Also, bragging rights are a pretty good reason too!

So? Fancy taking part and having a go? Look forward to reading your answers!

4 thoughts on “It’s not all ‘Knee, Knee, Knee’ – Running Survey

  1. Thanks for the mention 🙂 It was great to read your responses. I do like taking part in things like this from time to time as it helps you get to know a bit more about others and their running. Fingers crossed you can get back to running soon.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

