Running & My Anxious Life

This week is Mental Health Awareness Week 2016. I am a person who has anxiety and depression… And I’m proud to shout about it.

Have you ever seen those running tops that say ‘I run because…’?

Well, my t-shirt would say, ‘I run because I’m so unbelievably anxious that I will have a sweaty breakdown about something that will never happen.’ Luckily, t-shirts aren’t made that big so you all got away without seeing that.

People run for different reasons. Mine is to help make sure my brain doesn’t run away with itself and more that I run away with it. Another thing that many anxious people worry about, losing one’s mind.

losing-my-head
Source

Running is a way of escaping the stresses of everyday life as even the smallest things can be the biggest triggers. I’m not so sure what all of my triggers are at the moment but I’m trying hard to work them out so I can control them.

You guys have read about My Anxious Life on here before and the reason I put it out into the Universe is because I won’t let it beat me. Running helps me to do that.

And here I am…Sweatily doing so!

Beth motion shot NiallS

Running is great because:

  • I get fresh air
  • It clears my mind (so I don’t lose it)
  • Encourages deep breathing
  • I can tune into some upbeat music
  • It gives me the chance to catch up with some really amazing friends
  • It distracts my mind
  • Helps with the coping of having continuous butterflies in my stomach
  • It gives me a goal
  • It gives me a way out when I can’t deal with things
  • Helps with my low self esteem
  • Helps me to improve my body image which should help the above

I’ve read so many books about anxiety and depression and different people’s experiences. Physical exercise is one of the important keys to a healthy mind and I couldn’t agree more. Running has helped me and continues to do so. When I’m feeling overwhelmed, I hunt out my smelly trainers and gym stuff, grab my headphones and head for the hills (Where we live has a lot of them so I’m, in essence, spoiled for choice)

My new business venture has really helped. I listen to mindset podcasts when I’m out which helps me to get brand new ideas and helps me to get creative. I’m powering through and am nearing promotion which is incredible.

So, what’s running done for me?

Given me an escape, I’ve made lots of new friends and gotten fitter in the process. I’ve entered the ballot for the London Marathon and am determined that I’m doing it. In my crazy mind, I’m already accepted and I’m doing it.

Let’s see where else my love of running and my crazy mind can take me.

 

9 thoughts on “Running & My Anxious Life

  1. I suffer from anxiety too and I recently moved to a new country so anxiety is high! Running is one of the first thing I started doing again when I arrived to England because it helped me cope with anxiety and gave me a good way to learn to know my new neighbourhood… Running is the best! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m way better now, thank you! I think the first three months were the adaptation period at its toughest but it’s over now… 🙂 I live in Lincoln, a couple hours north of London. Beautiful historic city!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you for this post ❤ There is still too much stigma around depression and anxiety, and talking/writing/shouting about it can only help lessen that! Running definitely helps with my anxiety too… I feel it starting to creep up on me when I haven't been for a run in a while. Well done you, and keep going! 🙂 x

    Liked by 2 people

  3. This is a great post and I think by sharing this, you are likely helping so many people. Running can be so cathartic and has certainly helped me during my most difficult times and when I have been dealing with decision making. It is the most non-judgemental thing out there, in my opinion.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I definitely agree that it’s cathartic and thank you so much for the lovely comment. It really can help can’t it? The steady flow of your breathing can sometimes help to calm you right down. Sometimes my anxiety is horrendous, but if I head out for a run, the action of just breathing deeply really helps. I’m glad it’s helped you too 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

